Android 11’s Auto-Reset Permissions Feature Is Coming To Older Versions of Android


One of the privacy related features Google introduced in Android 11 was an auto-reset of permissions for apps that you haven’t used in a long time. This is because sometimes we download apps, grant it permission, use it for a couple of times, and that’s it. We then leave the app sitting in our phones.

With this feature, basically after an extended period of time where the app is no longer being used, Google will revoke those permissions and you’ll have to grant them again if you want to use the app again. However, this was a feature only available in Android 11 and beyond, but the good news is that Google is changing that.

Starting in December 2021, Google has announced that they will begin rolling out the functionality to older builds of Android from Android 6 and above. Once the update is rolled out, it will be enabled by default so you don’t need to worry about enabling it yourself, but you will have to opt-out manually if you don’t want to use it.

This is great news for users who are concerned about privacy, and while we imagine there aren’t that many devices running on Android 6, this could be beneficial for those who might still be running Android 8-10 that weren’t eligible for Android 11.

Filed in Cellphones. Read more about , , and . Source: engadget



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *